The most rewarding aspects of conducting the interview was learning more about my manager whom I see everyday and do not think much more about other than are you making my customer's food? Bill spends about 60 hours a week working so it was good for me and who ever else watched the video to see another side of him. He is a lot deeper than most people would give him credit for. I already liked him for the funny things he would say, now I appreciate him for the more morbid stuff he says and writes about. Bill is not just that funny guy, there are different levels to him. So now I get to enjoy all sides of Bill that I may not have experienced if I didn't interview him.
Another rewarding aspect of this interview is I got to see Bill be more human and less manager. While interviewing him, we were on the same level; he didn't know the kind of questions I was going to ask and I didn't know the kind of responses he was going to give me. I learned that as a interviewer you need a good theme or set of questions you have in mind or wrote down  for you person of interest. I do not think I would have been able to achieve my results if I just placed my camera in front of Bill and asked him to start talking about whatever he wanted.
One of the more struggling aspect of an interview is first of all finding someone I found interesting enough to interview. I know interesting people but I needed someone I knew who could talk without being too awkward in front of the camera. Once I figured out that it was going to be Bill, I told him about the project. Then he became a little anxious and started asking me questions and specifics about the interview. I tried to answer these questions as best as I could. His anxiety rubbed off on me and made me struggle with picking out what project I wanted to do. Originally, I was going to do the creative non-fiction but Bill and his own words became a much better story than I could think of on my own. My last and latest struggle is my pc, I have never used the movie maker program but I am willing to put the time in to edit my videos and put this project all together in a nice package. It's already taking some time finding the exact moments again but I am sure I will succeed and be proud that I've acquired some new skills.



Leave a Reply.